List of EFCC Chairmen From 2003 — Date

The complete list of all EFCC chairmen to date, both past and present, in Nigeria, along with their terms in office, will be examined in this article. If you’re a Nigerian and want to know who is currently leading the EFCC or even who the organization’s founding chairman was, look no further—we’ve got you covered.

The current administration in Nigeria is doing all possible to combat corruption and combat corrupt people. As a result, the EFCC is now free to go all out and hunt down corrupt people throughout the nation.

Meaning of EFCC

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) was established in 2003 and works with the federal government to combat financial crimes and corruption. Money laundering and advance fee fraud (419) are examples of these financial crimes.

The Nigerian president has a responsibility to direct the anti-corruption agency’s operations and choose its leaders.

Before we look at the complete list of all EFCC chairmen in Nigeria, past and current, that is, EFCC chairmen up to this point, it is important to mention to let you know that the EFCC has mission and vision statements that serve as guidelines for how they work. These statements are shown below:

EFCC mission Statement 

To rid Nigeria of economic and financial crimes and to effectively coordinate the domestic effort of the global fight against money laundering and terrorist financing.

EFCC Vision Statement 

An agency operating to the best international standards and leading the fight against economic and financial crimes in Nigeria.

# Names of EFCC Chairmen Year Appointed Status
1 Nuhu Ribadu 2003-2007 Ousted for trying to investigate former Delta State Governor, James Ibori.
2 Ibrahim Lamorde 2008 Acting
3 Farida Mzamber Waziri 2008- Nov 23, 2011 Sacked by former President, Goodluck Jonathan. Reason: National Interest
4 Ibrahim Lamorde 2011-2015 Sacked by Muhammadu Buhari over alleged missing $5bn at the EFCC.
5 Ibrahim Magu 2015 – Jul 2020 Suspended over corruption claims but was never reinstated.
6 Muhammed Umar Jul 2020 – 2021 Directed by Muhammadu Buhari to take charge pending when Magu's investigation would be completed.
7 Abdulrasheed Bawa Feb 16, 2021 Still in Office.

Who was the first EFCC Chairman?

The first chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) was retired police officer, Nuhu Ribadu. Ribadu was appointed by President Olusegun Obasanjo as Chairman of the then-newly formed EFCC.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.