Premier League Golden Boot Winners [Full List]

The English Premier League is one of the most exciting football leagues in the world and has some of Europe best strikers who often jostle for the Golden Boot award which comes at the end of the season.

Recognition of stellar goal scorers in the Premier League over the years has given rise to stiff competitions among forwards who covet the individual Gold Boot trophy.

What is the Golden Boot award?

The Premier League Golden Boot Award is an annual award given to the leading goal scorer or the player who score the most goals in a Premier League campaign or season. The Golden Boot can be awarded to two or more players if they have the same highest number of goals at the end of a campaign.

History of the Golden Boot award

The “Premier League Golden Boot” award was first presented in the 1992/1993 season, the same year the Premier League was founded. Teddy Sheringham, former Tottenham Hotspur forward was the first player to win the Golden Boot award, after scoring 22 goals in the campaign.

Premier League Golden Boot award Winners

Since the Golden Boot was founded in 1992, English players have won the award more. However, French player, Theirry Henry holds the current number of Golden Boots win for an individual (4).

Below is a list of all Golden Boot winners in the Premier League since the Premier League was founded in 1992.

Season Player Club Goals
1992/93 Teddy Sheringham NFO/TOT 22*
1993/94 Andrew Cole NEW 34*
1994/95 Alan Shearer BLB 34*
1995/96 Alan Shearer BLB 31
1996/97 Alan Shearer NEW 25
1997/98 Dion Dublin COV 18
Michael Owen LIV 18
Chris Sutton BLB 18
1998/99 Michael Owen LIV 18
Dwight Yorke MUN 18
Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink LEE 18
1999/00 Kevin Phillips SUN 30
2000/01 Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink CHE 23
2001/02 Thierry Henry ARS 24
2002/03 Ruud van Nistelrooy MUN 25
2003/04 Thierry Henry ARS 30
2004/05 Thierry Henry ARS 25
2005/06 Thierry Henry ARS 27
2006/07 Didier Drogba CHE 20
2007/08 Cristiano Ronaldo MUN 31
2008/09 Nicolas Anelka CHE 19
2009/10 Didier Drogba CHE 29
2010/11 Carlos Tevez MCI 20
Dimitar Berbatov MUN 20
2011/12 Robin van Persie ARS 30
2012/13 Robin van Persie MUN 26
2013/14 Luis Suarez LIV 31
2014/15 Sergio Aguero MCI 26
2015/16 Harry Kane TOT 25
2016/17 Harry Kane TOT 29
2017/18 Mohamed Salah LIV 32
2018/19 Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang ARS 22
Sadio Mane LIV 22
Mohamed Salah LIV 22
2019/20 Jamie Vardy LEI 23
2020/21 Harry Kane TOT 23
2021/22 Mohamed Salah LIV 23
Son Heung-min TOT 23

Who has the most Premier League Golden Boot award?

Arsenal legend and former French player, Theirry Henry holds the record for the most Golden Boot wins (4) and is one of only two players to have won it three years in a row, between 2003/04 and 2005/06. Harry Kane, Mohammed Salah and Alan Shearer hold the joint second position with each winning the Golden Boot award 3 times each.

Below is a detailed table of Golden Boot award winners by players, the seasons they won the award and the number of times they won it:

Golden Boot Wins Player Country Seasons
4 Thierry Henry France 2001–02, 2003–04, 2004–05, 2005–06
3 Harry Kane England 2015–16, 2016–17, 2020–21
Mohamed Salah Egypt 2017–18, 2018–19, 2021–22
Alan Shearer England 1994–95, 1995–96, 1996–97
2 Didier Drogba Ivory Coast 2006–07, 2009–10
Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink Netherlands 1998–99, 2000–01
Michael Owen England 1997–98, 1998–99
Robin van Persie Netherlands 2011–12, 2012–13
You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.