List Of Federal Universities in Nigeria

Federal Universities are no doubt the most recognized and most popular universities in Nigeria. Despite the many problems associated with it, such as power play, politics, incessant strike and so on, most young Nigerians end up choosing them for many obvious reasons.

For starters, Federal Universities provide more liberty and free will unlike private universities where rules are strictly enforced, and students treated with iron fists and are sometimes expelled over “flimsy” things that are often termed normal in government-owned tertiary institutions.

That said, the terrible intervention cum lackadaisical attitude of the federal government of Nigeria towards federal universities has given power and education control to private owned universities as they are better equipped to provide quality education to undergraduates, without prejudice or malice.

Federal Universities in Nigeria

Federal universities, as their names imply, are controlled and funded by the Federal government of Nigeria. There are 43 federal universities scattered across Nigeria, including National Open Universities (NOUN), police academies, defence academies, universities of agricultures and university of technologies.

Despite the fact that some of these federal universities are unique in their operations and objectives, poor government funding over the years has made them less preferred if options were put on the table for prospective undergraduates who often think they can waltz in and out without experiencing government maladministration such as strikes, student union protests, often lead to suspension of activities, etc.

Here are the 43 federal universities in Nigeria, their names, as well as the year they were founded:

1 Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi 1988
2 Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria 1962
3 Bayero University, Kano 1975
4 Federal University Gashua, Yobe 2013
5 Federal University of Petroleum Resources, Effurun 2007
6 Federal University of Technology, Akure 1981
7 Federal University of Technology, Minna 1982
8 Federal University of Technology, Owerri 1980
9 Federal University, Dutse, Jigawa State 2011
10 Federal University, Dutsin-Ma, Katsina 2011
11 Federal University, Kashere, Gombe State 2011
12 Federal University, Lafia, Nasarawa State 2011
13 Federal University, Lokoja, Kogi State 2011
14 Alex Ekwueme University, Ndufu-Alike, Ebonyi State 2011
15 Federal University, Otuoke, Bayelsa 2011
16 Federal University, Oye-Ekiti, Ekiti State 2011
17 Federal University, Wukari, Taraba State 2011
18 Federal University, Birnin Kebbi 2013
19 Federal University, Gusau Zamfara 2013
20 Michael Okpara University of Agricultural Umudike 1992
21 Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola 1981
22 National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos 2002
23 Nigeria Police Academy Wudil 1985
24 Nigerian Defence Academy Kaduna 1985
25 Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka 1992
26 Obafemi Awolowo University,Ile-Ife 1962
27 University of Abuja, Gwagwalada 1988
28 Federal University of Agriculture, Abeokuta 1988
29 University of Agriculture, Makurdi 1988
30 University of Benin 1970
31 University of Calabar 1975
32 University of Ibadan 1948
33 University of Ilorin 1975
34 University of Jos 1975
35 University of Lagos 1962
36 University of Maiduguri 1975
37 University of Nigeria, Nsukka 1960
38 University of Port-Harcourt 1975
39 University of Uyo 1991
40 Usumanu Danfodiyo University 1975
41 Nigerian Maritime University Okerenkoko, Delta State 2018
42 Air Force Institute of Technology, Kaduna 2018
43 Nigerian Army University Biu 2018

Oldest Federal Universities in Nigeria

The oldest federal university in Nigeria is the University of Ibadan, and it was founded in 1948, almost two decades before Nigeria got her independence and became a republic. The other two are the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, which was founded in 1960 and the University of Lagos, founded in 1962.

You might also like
Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.